Back to All Events

Heartland Marimba Quartet

The Heartland Marimba Quartet (HMQ) is the primary performing ensemble of Heartland Marimba. Established in 2016 by acclaimed marimba soloist Matthew Coley, the group seeks to give a platform to the music of American composers in its programming, and continues to expand its repertoire with works from composers worldwide.

Comprised of four distinctively creative forces, Matthew Coley, Michael J. Jones, Joe Millea, and Andrew Veit, Heartland Marimba Quartet exemplifies Heartland Marimba’s mission to develop and disseminate the classical marimba art form in both academic and community contexts. In 2018, HMQ had the honor of being the ensemble in residence for the Society of Composers National Conference in Tacoma, Washington. While there, the group premiered a new concerto for marimba quartet and wind ensemble by Paul Alan Price-Brenner with the University of Puget Sound Wind Ensemble. HMQ’s 2018-2019 season further highlighted works written for Heartland Marimba, including Alex Orfaly’s Fôr Marimbas, Steven Simpson’s Fluidity, Matthew Coley’s Rivers of Rage, and the newest addition, The Principle of Vibration by Brett William Dietz.

During the 2019-2020 season they will release an album and collaborate with the Dubuque Arts Council, Millikin University Percussion, and the Minot and Dubuque Symphony Orchestras.


Earlier Event: November 17
Chelsea Chen
Later Event: March 8
Augustana University Choir